16-year-old Jordan stars in Indy

Speedway, Indiana – Dominic Jordan led wire-to-wire for all five divisions to win the Stoops Pursuit for the USAC NOS Energy Drink Midget National Championships at the opening night of Driven2SaveLives BC39 presented by WeatherTech at The Dirt Track at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The 16-year-old’s first-ever IMS experience marked his first ride aboard a Keith Koons/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports sponsored Bullet By Spike sponsored Toyota Speedway/Curb-Agajanian Motorsport. Jordan started out front and stayed ahead the entire distance with little resistance.

The point of Stoops Pursuit is pretty straightforward – don’t get over it and don’t get into an accident where you stop. Jordan thwarted the threats that came his way as the USAC series rookie officially put his name into the record books as an IMS-based winner.

“I was really nervous going into that,” Jordan admitted. “But after we got past the first and second yellow, I felt more comfortable with every green flag race we got.”

After a relatively short, but heavy rain earlier in the night, Gordon made his way to the chase after taking a freestyle victory. When it came time to endurance, Jordan put his 71k number down and kept the 25-car field at arm’s length the entire time.

“I haven’t tried many tricks,” Gordon noted. “I had to switch up my reboots a bit and not miss the bottom one.”

Jordan’s first and foremost challenge was trying to keep himself clean for 25 laps without hiccups from himself or the court weighing him down. However, that was definitely not the case behind him.

A problem occurred on the opening lap when Michael Faccinto’s left front tire was attached to the right rear tire of Ethan Mitchell. Contact suddenly sent Faccinto to the right on the fourth turn, then rolled the barrel twice and avoided injury.

Any drivers involved in a contest warning were subsequently disqualified, causing the spelling of heavy hitters Justin Grant, Thomas Missiroul and Chance Krumm to be disqualified at the start. Kyle Larson, winner of the last two Stoops Pursuits in 2019 and 21, got into Chrome’s left front wheel, rolling over it with his left front wheel.

Entering the last part of five cycles, it’s time. Second-placed Trey Gropp made his bid for the lead, tying with Gorden on the bottom at the entrance to turn third on lap 22, to no avail. Zach Daum, who sat fourth for most of the duration, swept his teammate Bundy Built Motorsports teammate Mitchell on lap 23, then tracked down and overtaken Gropp on exiting the fourth turn coming to the white flag.

By that time it was too late. Jordan had solidly established his dominance at the start and finished with a stunning victory. It’s worth noting that Jordan, who made eight USAC National Midget features starting earlier this season with CB Industries, has only finished once inside the top 10.

Jordan also became the third different winner in Stoops Pursuit’s four-year history, joining Zeb Wise (2018) and Kyle Larson (2019 and 21).

Daum grabbed second place, 678 seconds behind Jordan in the bar. Gropp finished third with Cannon McIntosh moving from 20 to fourth. Ethan Mitchell rounded out the top five.

Ten heat races were held earlier on Wednesday night, with teammates Chris Windom and Mitchell Mulls tied for first place points for the BC39 event, each with 160 points in the eighth to first round during qualifying.

Dominic Jordan (Photo by Dave Nierbas)

USAC NOS Energy Drink Midget National Championship, The Dirt Track at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Speedway, Ind. August 3, 2022

Simpson Reese produces the first heat: (10 laps, passing points) 1. Chris Windom (#89x CBI), 2. Tree Group (#08x Dave McDalby), 3. Austin Barnhill (#17B Dave McDalby), 4. Jerry Koons Jr (#85 Central) ), 5. Hayden Reinbold (#19AZ Reinbold-Underwood), 6. Rylan Gray (#06 Gray), 7. Dillon Welch (#71w May), 8. Travis Buckley (#7 BSL). NT

Competition Suspension (CSI) Second Heat: (10 laps, skip points) 1. Jade Avedisian (#84 CBI), 2. Ryan Thames (#97K Koons/Corp Aghajanian), 3. Michael Pickens (#17 Stores), 4. Taylor Reimer (#25K Koons) /) Corp Ajajanian), 5. Jacob Denny (No. 61 Moons Stout), 6. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (08 sec Dave McDalby), 7. Chris Pow (No. 36 Bayou), 8. Jeff Schindler (#8x Schindler), 9. Ian Creager (#36c Creager).

US pit stop third heat: (10 laps, passing points) 1. Buddy Kofoed (#67 Koons/Corp-Aghajanian), 2. Brenham Crouch (#97 Koons/Corp-Agajanian), 3. Kyle Larson (#86 CBI), 4. Sheldon Creed ( #74 counter), 5. Blake Brannon (#40B Western Speed), 6. Kyle Jones (#7u trifecta), 7. Zach Fitch (#21 Reaper), 8. Jason McDougall (#68 Six8), 9. Josh Hodge (#5J Rose).

Fourth heat supply end rod: (10 laps, overtaking points) 1. Chance Chrome (#26 Rodin), 2. Canon Macintosh (#08 Dave Mac Dalby), 3. Jess Park (#87 CBI), 4. Donnie Schatz (#15 Spike/Curb- Aghajanian), 5. Kidd Lewis (#71M Koons/Corp Aghajanian), 6. Grayson Springer (No. 81 G Gray), 7. Braden Schiaramonti (25 Malloy), 8. Timmy Backwalter (29 Seymour), 9. Zach Boden (No. 51 Doner).

Simpson Race Produces Fifth Heat: (10 laps, overtaking points) 1. Michael Facinto (#15F Mounce-Stout), 2. Emerson Axsom (#39BC Clauson Marshall), 3. Adam Taylor (#7T Taylor), 4. Bill Rose (#6 Rose), 5. Steve Buckwalter (#25B Buckwalter), 6. A.J. Hopkins (#7R RAMCO).

Competition Suspension System (CSI) Sixth Heat: (10 laps, overtaking points) 1. Mitchell Mulls (#89 CBI), 2. Brady Bacon (#21H TKH), 3. Kaylee Bryson (#71 Kunz/Curb-Agajanian), 4. CJ Leary (#25L Petry) 5. Alex Watson (#11 T Taylor), 6. Shannon McQueen (#7 McQueen), 7. Kyle Keaton (#6K Keaton), 8. Jim Jones (97J Jones), 9. Jadon Rogers (Ramko #7m) .

Pit stop USA Seventh Heat: (10 laps, passing points) 1. Tyler Courtney (#7BC Clawson Marshall), 2. Kyle Cummins (#3G Styres), 3. Carter Sarff (#21K Sarff), 4. Russ Gamester (#46 Gamester), 5. Colby Copeland (#25m Malloy), 6. Michelle Decker (#7D Decker), 7. Anton Hernandez (#37x Felker), 8. Jordan Kinser (#5LK Briscoe).

Eighth heat supply rod end: (10 laps, over points) 1. Ethan Mitchell (#19m Bundy Built), 2. Thomas Meseraull (#7x RMS), 3. Mariah Ede (#71E Kunz/Curb-Agajanian), 4. Maria Cofer (#57 Abacus) )), 5. Bryant Weidman (No. 01 Koons/Corp Aghajanian), 6. Ryan Newman (#39N Clawson Marshall), 7. Isaac Chapel (Hall #6x), 8. Justin Dickerson (#21 De Dickerson).

Simpson Race products are the ninth heat: (10 laps, overtaking points) 1. Dominic Jordan (#71K Koons/Corp-Agajanian), 2. Chase Briscoe (#5B Briscoe), 3. J.J. Yelly (#0G Styres), 4. Nick Drake (# 55 Klein), 5. Barry Valentino (#23 Valentino), 6. John Heidenrich (#22 Heidenrich), 7. Jimmy Quinn (#37x Felker), 8. Casey Burkham (#7MR Ramco).

Competition Suspension (CSI) Tenth Heat: (10 laps, passing points) 1. Zach Daum (#9m Bundy Built), 2. Justin Grant (#2J RMS), 3. Riley Kressel (#19K Cox), 4. Logan Sevi (#19 Reinbold-Underwood), 5. Chase McDermand (#40 Moons Stout), 6. Brian Stanville (#75AU Griffiths), 7. Scott Orr (#88 Orr), 8. Alex Nalon (#18N Nalon), 9. Ryan Thomas (#1 Wingo) .

STOOPS chase: (25 laps, starting positions in parentheses) 1. Dominic Jordan (1)And the 2. Zach Daum (7), 3. Tree Group (3), 4. Canon Macintosh (20), 5. Ethan Mitchell (5), 6. Ricky Stenhouse Jr (21 – P), 7. C.J. Leary (25 )-P), 8. Jerry Koons Jr. (22-P), 9. Brady Bacon (11), 10. Jade Avedisian (19), 11. Paddy Kofoed (16), 12. Donnie Schatz (24-P), 13. Karter Sarff (9), 14. Mitchell Moles (17), 15. Tyler Courtney (18), 16. Chase Briscoe (23-P), 17. J. J. Yeley (2), 18. Chris Windom (6), 19. Kyle Larson (12), 20. Michael Facinto (4), 21. Chance Krum (8), 22. Emerson Axsum (15), 23. Justin Grant (10), 24. Michael Pickens (13), 25. Thomas Misiraul (14).